Best website builder for artists (2026 comparison)
Compiled by an automated, AI-assisted process from official vendor pricing pages. Last checked: 2026-10-13. This site currently contains no affiliate links; if that changes, each one will be labelled. See the methodology, privacy notice and disclosure.
Plans and prices
| Vendor | Price per month, billed annually | Other prices as the vendor states them | Free plan or trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Squarespace | Listed price per month: Basic $10 or $14, Core $14 or $20, Advanced $23 or $32 (billing period not labelled on the vendor page) | 14-day free trial | |
| Wix | Light $17.77, Core $29.77, Business $39.77, Business Elite $159.77 | Not stated on the vendor page | Free plan, no credit card required |
| Hostinger Website Builder | Not stated on the vendor page | 48-month prepaid, paid upfront, price per month: Premium $2.99, Unlimited $3.99, Cloud Startup $7.99. Renewal per month: $10.99, $16.99, $25.99. | 14-day free trial of the editor |
| Format | Basic $10, Pro $12, Pro Plus $15 (annual discount applies to the first year only) | "Normally" $14 per month (Basic), $24 (Pro), $36 (Pro Plus) | 14-day free trial, no credit card required |
Squarespace's page shows two prices per plan and labels neither as annual or monthly, so this page shows them as one listed price with no billing period assigned. Wix states that its displayed prices are for yearly subscriptions. Hostinger's page lists only 48-month prepaid prices. Pixpa is covered in the feature table below; its page text showed no plan prices, so none are given (15-day free trial, no credit card).
Features artists need, and why
An artist's site is a portfolio first: it has to show many images, and often it has to sell originals, prints or downloads. That makes gallery limits, store or payment features and storage the useful columns.
| Vendor | Galleries | Payments or store | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Squarespace | Not stated on the vendor page | Online store fee 2% on Basic, 0% on Core and Advanced | No caps on bandwidth or storage stated; video hosting 30 minutes (Basic), 5 hours (Core), unlimited (Advanced) |
| Wix | Not stated on the vendor page | Accept payments listed on Core, Business and Business Elite; not listed on Light | 2 GB (Light), 50 GB (Core), 100 GB (Business), unlimited (Business Elite) |
| Hostinger Website Builder | Not stated on the vendor page | Ecommerce available on Unlimited and Cloud Startup; not listed on Premium | Not stated on the vendor page |
| Format | Client galleries: 10 on Basic (one table row says 3), 50 on Pro, 250 on Pro Plus | No online store on Basic; 15 products on Pro, 1,000 on Pro Plus, commission free | Image storage: none on Basic, 100 GB on Pro, 1 TB on Pro Plus |
| Pixpa | Unlimited albums on all plans; gallery links 3, 10, 25, unlimited (Basic to Advanced) | Store products: up to 3, 10, 100, unlimited (Basic to Advanced); payment forms on Professional and Advanced | Original-file storage: 3 GB, 5 GB, 25 GB, 100 GB (Basic to Advanced) |
Which fits which case
- A large body of work plus a shop: Format (up to 1,000 products on Pro Plus, commission free) and Pixpa (unlimited store products on Advanced, prints or downloads) state the largest product limits.
- Few items for sale: Pixpa's Basic allows up to 3 store products and Format's Pro allows 15; Format's Basic has no online store.
- A shop with fee transparency: Squarespace states its store fee by plan (2% on Basic, 0% on Core and Advanced).
- Hostinger: states ecommerce on two plans but no gallery or storage information, so it cannot be compared on image capacity.
Other professions
See also photographers, musicians, authors, or return to the home page.